A Bird's Eye View into Nature's Reality

Fishing is PHENOMENAL Here!!

The Great Blue Heron is a personal favorite of mine. Originating from The Land of 10,000 lakes, I grew up marveling over these exotic looking birds. This guy is special to me, as he has been known to respond to my “fly with me” invitations by turning back to circle over me 3 or more times before returning to his original journey. One rare event, I was feeling lonely and retrospective watching the sunset. I pulled an amulet to ponder. I drew “Primal Mother”; the message is the most basic and powerful foundation of love and nurturing. Immediately thereafter “Great Blue” showed up, this time with his mate. What a gift it was when he circled over me, bringing her with him, as if to share his joy with me! How can one stay lonely when Nature shows up with such grandeur?!

Another gift bestowed upon me by Great Blue was today’s chance encounter. I was keeping my constant vigil watching the Hawks’ nest as the eggs are all 3 now eligible to hatch at any moment. Movement out of the corner of my eye caught my attention. Seeing a Canadian goose skimming along the surface of the river, I tracked downstream with the binoculars feeling there was something else ahead. It was Great Blue in all his glory, dropping in to fish in peace.

Great Blue

What a show he had in store for me! All you fishermen out there…prepare to lay down your rods in homage to Great Blue… (Slideshow to follow. The photography is substandard (low light and far away) but good enough to “get the picture”!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Great Blue went on to swallow that fish whole! Unbelieveable! Check out how thick his neck is with the fish in it before he swallows!

Fish in Great Blue's Throat

The fish is in Great Blue's Stomach!

Just another fishy day in paradise for Great Blue!

4 responses

  1. Incredible! I thought he was fishin’ for a little one when he pulled out that monster rainbow trout!

    May 21, 2011 at 7:22 AM

    • It was so exciting to witness it! I was even more amazed to see him swallow that monster WHOLE!!

      May 23, 2011 at 7:52 AM

  2. Kathryn

    Good lesson – I “get the picture” 🙂 Thanks Maureen, for sharing this, something I had never witnessed before – the swallowing part.

    May 21, 2011 at 8:30 AM

    • I couldn’t believe my eyes! That fish was HUGE! I didn’t realize Great Blue Herons were so pelican-like. Thanks for your comment Kath!

      May 21, 2011 at 11:05 AM

Leave a Reply

